Skip to content
Home » OSRS Barbarian Assault Guide

OSRS Barbarian Assault Guide

osrs barbarian assault guide

Are you ready to take on the challenge of Barbarian Assault in Old School RuneScape? This team-based minigame offers a unique and rewarding experience for players who enjoy cooperative gameplay. Whether you’re a newcomer looking to learn the ropes or a seasoned veteran aiming to improve your skills, this comprehensive guide will walk you through all the essential aspects of Barbarian Assault.

Introduction to Barbarian Assault

Barbarian Assault is a cooperative minigame introduced in OSRS as part of the Barbarian Training expansion. Located beneath the Barbarian Outpost, this activity pits teams of five players against waves of Penance creatures, challenging them to work together to defeat the enemies, solve puzzles, and score points.

Forming a Team

Before you can dive into Barbarian Assault, you’ll need to find a team of five players. The game has a dedicated chat channel where players can look for teams, making it easier to find like-minded individuals. Communication and teamwork are vital in Barbarian Assault, so make sure you’re on the same page with your team members.

Roles in Barbarian Assault

In Barbarian Assault, each player assumes one of four roles: Attacker, Defender, Collector, or Healer. Understanding these roles and their responsibilities is crucial for success.

1. Attacker:

  • Focuses on damaging the Penance creatures.
  • Uses special weapons and combat styles.
  • Prioritizes attacking the correct targets.

2. Defender:

  • Protects the egg launcher from damage.
  • Repairs any damage to the cannon.
  • Lures Penance Runners away from the cannon.

3. Collector:

  • Collects eggs from the ground and deposits them.
  • Provides the team with ammunition.
  • Manages the egg launcher efficiently.

4. Healer:

  • Restores the team’s health and special attack energy.
  • Uses the Poisoned Meat ability strategically.
  • Ensures the team stays alive during waves.

Gameplay Phases

Barbarian Assault consists of five waves, each with a specific set of challenges. Here’s a brief overview of what to expect in each wave:

Wave 1: Attacker Focus

  • Learn to deal with Penance Fighters and Rangers.
  • Attackers focus on dealing damage to these creatures.

Wave 2: Collector Practice

  • Collect eggs and learn to use the egg launcher.
  • Attackers continue dealing damage.

Wave 3: Defender Challenges

  • Defenders protect the cannon from Penance Runners.
  • Attackers continue dealing damage.

Wave 4: Healer Responsibilities

  • Healers learn to heal and manage special attack energy.
  • Attackers continue dealing damage.

Wave 5: Full Team Coordination

  • All roles come together for a challenging wave.
  • Requires effective communication and teamwork.